3 Sad Breakup Poems

1. If I’d Never Met You

“If I’d never met you, I wouldn’t feel the pain Of losing your sweet love; I wouldn’t feel insane. But if I’d never met you, I wouldn’t know the pleasure Of ecstasy’s warm gifts And memories to treasure. Now moving on with life, I force a wistful grin, Questioning what went wrong, Wondering what might have been.” – Joanna Fuchs

2. After Love

“There is no magic any more, We meet as other people do, You work no miracle for me Nor I for you. You were the wind and I the sea – There is no splendor any more, I have grown listless as the pool Beside the shore. But though the pool is safe from storm And from the tide has found surcease, It grows more bitter than the sea, For all its peace.” – Sara Teasdale

3. Oxymoronic Love

“Hatred is the new love. Rage is right. Touch is touch. The collars of the coat, turned down, point up. The corners of our hearts are smoothed with rough. Our glass breaks slick, our teeth rip soft. We are sipping from the water’s thirst. We were lost at first. From the finish, begun. We undergo the pain the other knows. We are cartoon yards where dogs dig for lost bones. Esoteric, we are full of holes. That need to be filled. That need to be dug. We are under-loved. We are under-known. Give to us and we are downcast and uplifted and sift like water and sand like stone. We are greedy, we are gone. We are helpless, we are prone. Drain us or fill us and we’ll ache a vast installment. Let us empty. Let us alone. Madness is our happiness. Sadness is our home.” – Jennifer Militello