1. A Golden Chain – By Helen Steiner Rice

Friendship is a golden chain, The links are friends so dear, And like a rare and precious jewel It’s treasured more each year. It’s clasped together firmly With a love that’s deep and true, And it’s rich with happy memories And fond recollections, too. Time can’t destroy its beauty For as long as memory lives, Years can’t erase the pleasure That the joy of friendship gives. For friendship is a priceless gift That can’t be bought or sold, But to have an understanding friend Is worth far more than gold. And the golden chain of friendship Is a strong and blessed tie, Binding kindred hearts together As the years go passing by.

2. Your Kind Of Friendship – By Anonymous

It takes more than caring To be a real friend The nature of friendship Requires a blend Of warmest compassion And love deep and true To reach and to comfort The way that you do Because I can see That your kind of friendship Is priceless to me.

3. To All My Friends – By May Yang

That I could be this human at this time breathing, looking, seeing, smelling That I could be this moment at this time resting, calmly moving, feeling That I could be this excellence at this time sudden, changed, peaceful, & woke To all my friends who have been with me in weakness when water falls rush down my two sides To all my friends who have felt me in anguish when this earthen back breaks between the crack of two blades To all my friends who have held me in rage when fire tears through swallows behind tight grins I know you I see you I hear you Although the world is silent around you I know you I see you I hear you

4. The Friend – By Matt Hart

The friend lives half in the grass and half in the chocolate cake, walks over to your house in the bashful light of November, or the forceful light of summer. You put your hand on her shoulder, or you put your hand on his shoulder. The friend is indefinite. You are both so tired, no one ever notices the sleeping bags inside you and under your eyes when you’re talking together about the glue of this life, the sticky saturation of bodies into darkness. The friend’s crisis of faith about faith is unnerving in its power to influence belief, not in or toward some other higher power, but away from all power in the grass or the lake with your hand on her shoulder, your hand on his shoulder. You tell the friend the best things you can imagine, and every single one of them has already happened, so you recount them of great necessity with nostalgic, atomic ferocity, and one by one by one until many. The eggbirds whistle the gargantuan trees. The noiserocks fall twisted into each other’s dreams, their colorful paratrooping, their skinny dark jeans, little black walnuts to the surface of this earth. You and the friend remain twisted together, thinking your simultaneous and inarticulate thoughts in physical lawlessness, in chemical awkwardness. It is too much to be so many different things at once. The friend brings black hole candy to your lips, and jumping off the rooftops of your city, the experience. So much confusion — the several layers of exhaustion, and being a friend with your hands in your pockets, and the friend’s hands in your pockets. O bitter black walnuts of this parachuted earth! O gongbirds and appleflocks! The friend puts her hand on your shoulder. The friend puts his hand on your shoulder. You find a higher power when you look.

5. Childhood Friends – By Mindy Carpenter

As childhood friends, we grew up together, Swearing to be friends forever and ever. Sometimes we would argue and fight, Other times we would laugh and stay up all night. We went from playing with games and toys, To talking and dreaming about different boys. My thoughts and feelings, to you I would confide, Never having anything to hide. Friends we do remain, Things changing, and things staying the same. To each other we still listen and share, About each other, we will always care.

6. Because You Are My Friend – By Joanna Fuchs

Because you are my friend, my life is enriched in a myriad of ways. Like a cool breeze on a sweltering day, like a ray of sunshine parting glowering clouds, you lift me up. In good times, we soar, like weightless balloons over neon rainbows. In bad times, you are soothing balm for my pummeled soul. I learn so much from you; you help me see old things in new ways. I wonder if you are aware of the bright seeds you are sowing in me. I’m a better person for knowing you, so that everyone I interact with is touched by your good effect on me. You relax me, refresh me, renew me. Your bounteous heart envelops me in joy and love and peace. May your life be filled with dazzling blessings, just as I am blessed by being your friend.

7. Thank You, Friend – By Joanna Fuchs

Thank you, friend, for all the things That mean so much to me– For concern and understanding You give abundantly. Thanks for listening with your heart; For cheering me when I’m blue; For bringing out the best in me; And just for being you. Thanks for in-depth conversation That stimulates my brain; For silly times we laugh out loud; For things I can’t explain. For looking past my flaws and faults; For all the time you spend; For all the kind things that you do, Thank you; thank you, friend.

8. A Friend Or Two – By Wilbur D. Nesbit

There’s all of pleasure and all of peace In a friend or two; And all your troubles may find release Within a friend or two; It’s in the grip of the sleeping hand On native soil or in alien land, But the world is made-do you understand- Of a friend or two. A song to sing, and a crust to share With a friend or two; A smile to give and a grief to bear With a friend or two; A road to walk and a goal to win, An inglenook to find comfort in, The gladdest hours that we know begin With a friend or two. A little laughter; perhaps some tears With a friend or two; The days, the weeks, and the months and years With a friend or two; A vale to cross and a hill to climb, A mock at age and a jeer at time- The prose of life takes the lilt of rhyme With a friend or two. The brother-soul and the brother-heart Of a friend or two Make us drift on from the crowd apart, With a friend or two; For come days happy or come days sad We count no hours but the ones made glad By the hale good times we have ever had With a friend or two. Then brim the goblet and quaff the toast To a friend or two, For glad the man who can always boast of a friend or two; But fairest sight is a friendly face, The blithest tread is a friendly pace And heaven will be a better place For a friend or two.

9. True Friends – By John P. Read

Whenever life gets you down, Remember I’ll always be around; All you have to do is call. When your dreams disappear, I’ll always be near To catch you when you fall. So remember, dear friend, On me you can depend; Nothing’s too much at all. I will stand by your side; I won’t run and hide. Seeing you happy is my reward.

10. A Time to Talk – By Robert Frost

When a friend calls to me from the road And slows his horse to a meaning walk, I don’t stand still and look around On all the hills I haven’t hoed, And shout from where I am, What is it? No, not as there is a time to talk. I thrust my hoe in the mellow ground, Blade-end up and five feet tall, And plod: I go up to the stone wall For a friendly visit.

11. True Friends – By Emily

Best friends stick together till the end. They are like a straight line that will not bend. They trust each other forever, No matter if you’re apart or together. They can be your hero and save the day. They will never leave your side; they are here to stay. They help you up when you fall. Your true friends are best of all.

12. Smile – By Jessica R. Dillinger

If you’re feeling down; turn your frown upside down. Put a smile on your face; take the world in your embrace. Ask for a little help from the man up above. And remember you have your best friend’s love.

13. My True Friend – By Abimbola T. Alabi

You always answer when I call And help me up if I should fall, But you never complain at all, My true friend. You confront me when I am wrong But will never scold me for long, Instead, you try to keep me strong, My true friend. You know the funny things to say To make me laugh my fears away. Like the sun, you brighten my day, My true friend. You see in me gifts I deny And urge me to give things a try. You spread for me my wings to fly, My true friend. You always perceive what I need And offer it before I plead. Just like a book, my mind you read, My true friend. You value little things I do But won’t brag of what you do too. How can I ever repay you, My true friend? And greatest of all I have found When times are tough and I’m down, You are the one who sticks around, My true friend.

14. God Sends – by Rosalie Carter

I think that God will never send, A gift so precious as a friend, A friend who always understands, And fills each need as it demands, Whose loyalty will stand the test, When skies are bright or overcast, Who sees the faults that merit blame, But keeps on loving just the same, Who does far more than creeds could do, To make us good, to make us true, Earth’s gifts a sweet contentment lend, But only God can give a friend.

15. You Have A Friend In Me – By Kase And Sash

You have a friend in me, Don’t try and hide your feelings because your best friend can see. I mean the world to you, That’s how I know our friendship is true. We will be besties for life, One gets stabbed, we both feel the knife……

16. A Friend – By Gillian Jones

A person who will listen and not condemn Someone on whom you can depend They will not flee when bad times are here Instead they will be there to lend an ear They will think of ways to make you smile So you can be happy for a while When times are good and happy there after They will be there to share the laughter Do not forget your friends at all For they pick you up when you fall Do not expect to just take and hold Give friendship back, it is pure gold.

17. To Me, Fair Friend, You Never Can Be Old (Sonnet 104) – By William Shakespeare

To me, fair friend, you never can be old, For as you were when first your eye I ey’d, Such seems your beauty still. Three winters cold, Have from the forests shook three summers’ pride, Three beauteous springs to yellow autumn turn’d, In process of the seasons have I seen, Three April perfumes in three hot Junes burn’d, Since first I saw you fresh, which yet are green. Ah! yet doth beauty like a dial-hand, Steal from his figure, and no pace perceiv’d; So your sweet hue, which methinks still doth stand, Hath motion, and mine eye may be deceiv’d: For fear of which, hear this thou age unbred: Ere you were born was beauty’s summer dead.

18. Hoping To Hear From A Former Friend – By Margaret Hasse

Is it you on the other end of the line hesitant to speak to me, pausing for a moment to register my hello so you know my number stayed the same, my last name remains mine? Though my voice isn’t young as when we last spoke, don’t you hear a familiar timbre? Still you hesitate so as not to startle me after all this time. Dots string out like an ellipsis in the endless sentence of your absence. I hear static-filled ticking, then a friendly stranger mispronounces my name. Recognizing a pitch to sell something and feeling foolish, I hang up quickly. Won’t you ever break your long silence? Sorrow and anger keep my line open to you.

19. A Poison Tree – By William Blake

I was angry with my friend; I told my wrath, my wrath did end. I was angry with my foe: I told it not, my wrath did grow. And I waterd it in fears, Night & morning with my tears: And I sunned it with smiles, And with soft deceitful wiles. And it grew both day and night. Till it bore an apple bright. And my foe beheld it shine, And he knew that it was mine. And into my garden stole, When the night had veild the pole; In the morning glad I see; My foe outstretched beneath the tree.

20. Friends – By Liz Beran

We are going to different high schools I know it will be hard we were best friends and now we are ripped apart I remember the good days we had throughout these 3 long years you were there when I was sad even when I was in tears But now it’s all changed we can’t be together anymore no more notebooks to exchange or laughter to adore No more inside jokes to hear or gossip in the hall now we have high school to fear and that’s the worst of them all I will never forget that smile of yours and how it made me glad just remember you’ll always be the bestest friend I’ve ever had

21. Tug O’ War – By Shel Silverstein

I will not play at tug o’ war. I’d rather play at hug o’ war, Where everyone hugs Instead of tugs, Where everyone giggles And rolls on the rug, Where everyone kisses, And everyone grins, And everyone cuddles, And everyone wins.

22. O, My Friend – By Edgar Lee Masters

O, my friend, What fitting word can I say? You, my chum, My companion of infinite talks, My inspiration, My guide, Through whom I saw myself at best; You, the light of this western country. You, a great richness. A glory, A charm, Product and treasure of these States.

23. Your Catfish Friend – By Richard Brautigan

If I were to live my life in catfish forms in scaffolds of skin and whiskers at the bottom of a pond and you were to come by one evening when the moon was shining down into my dark home and stand there at the edge of my affection and think, “It’s beautiful here by this pond.  I wish somebody loved me,” I’d love you and be your catfish friend and drive such lonely thoughts from your mind and suddenly you would be at peace, and ask yourself, “I wonder if there are any catfish in this pond?  It seems like a perfect place for them.”

24. Success – By Edgar A. Guest

I hold no dream of fortune vast, Nor seek undying fame. I do not ask when life is past That many know my name. I may not own the skill to rise To glory’s topmost height, Nor win a place among the wise, But I can keep the right. And I can live my life on earth Contented to the end, If but a few shall know my worth And proudly call me friend.

25. The Cake Of Friendship – By Michelle Flores

Preheat the oven of love With plenty of secrets and hugs. Mix in giggles and laughs That makes your sides split in half. Bake with the love and care And all the things you both should share. Decorate with the frosting of trust; This is really a must. Enjoy the cake; do not eat it fast. Just like your new friendship, make it last.

26. Poem For A Friend – By Maurice Boland

If I could write a poem, I would write it just for you. But I cannot write a poem, So what am I to do? If I could write a poem, I would tell you lots of things, Of love and happiness and the joy your friendship brings. But I cannot write a poem, So you will never know Just how much I love you, And now I have to go!

27. How Many, How Much – By Shel Silverstein

How many slams in an old screen door? Depends how loud you shut it. How many slices in a bread? Depends how thin you cut it. How much good inside a day? Depends how good you live ’em. How much love inside a friend? Depends how much you give ’em.

28. I Can Be a Pal – By Kristen Smith

I can be a pal by smiling at you. I can be a pal when you feel blue. I can be a pal who is honest and kind. I can be a pal when you’re in a bind. I can be a pal by saying please and thank you. I can be a pal when no one wants to. I can be a pal every single day. I can be a pal; what do you say?

29. Thank You For Your Friendship And Your Love – By Nicholas Gordon

Thank you for your friendship and your love. However life may turn, this gift will be A mountain that has made my river bend, Nor will it flow the same way to the sea. Knowing you is something I’m made of. Years will not this part of me remove. One lives for just a brief eternity, Understanding truths that never end.

30. A Love Letter To My Best Friend – By Andrew Warner

If spring is the eager season, then you are the late bloomer of autumn You are definitely orange… Like an orange, or a sunset sometimes But sometimes sunsets can be purple Purple is regal. And rare like orange, but I have heard way more people say that purple is their color, and lavender is their look, and violet is their name, and mauve is their polish, and velvet is their skin, but… Orange is reserved for the Velma archetype and the Vermilion poke-fan and the Pumpkin Ghost and the rustic tangerine shirt of Merman You are orange… like, sometimes Orange… like, maybe? Like, sometimes I see you by the curb, in construction and the next day you are gone Like a traffic cone, You face the sky like a circus cannon Sometimes you are so ready to get fired up Sometimes you are so unwilling, you bolt your soles to the sidewalk And I forget how planted you are, posed in pavement I see you like a pylon in between traffic lanes No matter how steep your neck, it is always on the line for someone else’s safety You are orange like Caution, like Slow Sometimes you are orange like Garfield on a rainy day Your thoughts are like uncharted Martian sands They are beautiful in their existence, but still considered alien Your ideas are a pumpkin patch Where you can’t really tell which root sprouts which fruit You just know they are grand and still growing I have seen you wear orange, like a lion’s mane like Pride Rock and Lion King like the goldfish that stays up all night You are orange like radioactive happiness like bio-hazardous laughter You are the beautiful disaster of Guy Fieri’s T-shirt wearing Mario Batali’s Crocs Doctors wanted to stabilize you they told you orange is too abrasive It is too creative Orange is Attention Deficit You’ve already heard them call you Orange, like disorder What’s another couple of words before it? You are orange like a monarch butterfly Your caterpillar is similar to any other inchworm or millipede but no one ever sees the difference between a monarch and a moth Mom said your tantrums could be mistaken for mood swings Your sleep patterns are not insomnia, but school-related stress You get extra time on tests, but they were never designed to assess your kind of intelligence. Because you are orange like a clockwork One that can be fucked up and brilliant at the same time Maybe that’s why I think you’re brilliant Bipolar Disorder is less like a coin, it’s less like two-face, more like the middle of a traffic light at two a.m. it is less stop-and-go, more like Slow, like, sometimes… like, maybe? I noticed your prescription bottles And prescription glasses are both autumn orange. I wonder if it’s difficult to discern which one changes the way you see the world and which one changes the way you see yourself.

31. If I Could Catch A Rainbow – By Sandra Lewis Pringle

If I could catch a rainbow, I would do it, just for you, And, share with you, its beauty, on the days you’re feeling blue. If I could, I would build a mountain, you could call your very own. A place to find serenity, a place just to be alone. If I could, I would take your troubles, and toss them into the sea. But, all these things, I’m finding, are impossible for me. I cannot build a mountain, or catch a rainbow fair; but, let me be, what I know best, A Friend, who’s always there. I promise to defend you, should the occasion ever rise, And, I promise to wipe away the tears, which might stream from your weeping eyes. Let me be the trusted Friend, the one that you know best. I will never leave you, on that, you can surely rest.

32. Will You Ever? – By Kaityln M. Yawn

I don’t think you will Ever fully understand How you’ve touched my life And made me who I am. I don’t think you could ever know Just how truly special you are, That even on the darkest nights You are my brightest star. You’ve allowed me to experience Something very hard to find, Unconditional love that exists In my body, soul, and mind. I don’t think you could ever feel All the love I have to give, And I’m sure you’ll never realize You’ve been my will to live. You are an amazing person, And without you I don’t know where I’d be. Having you in my life Completes and fulfills every part of me.

33. Friendship’s Flower – By Helen Steiner Rice

Life is like a garden And friendship like a flower, That blooms and grows in beauty With the sunshine and the shower. And lovely are the blossoms That are tended with great care, By those who work unselfishly To make the place more fair. And, like the garden blossoms, Friendship’s flower grows more sweet When watched and tended carefully By those we know and meet. And, if the seed of friendship Is planted deep and true And watched with understanding, Friendship’s flower will bloom for you.

34. Emblems Of Friendship – By John Imrie

Friendship is a golden band Linking life with life, Heart to heart, and hand to hand, Antidote to strife. Friendship is a silken cord Beautiful and strong, Guarding, by each kindly word, Loving hearts from wrong. Friendship is a beacon-light On life’s rocky shore, Brightest in our darkest night When the breakers roar. Friendship is an iron shield Where life’s cruel darts Ever may be forced to yield Ere they wound true hearts. Friendship is the gift of God Freely to us given, As the flowers that gem the sod, Or the light of heaven!

35. My Friend, Brielle – By Cathy Madison

My friend, Brielle, is the best. She is nicer than the rest. When you are sad and have a frown, She will turn it upside down. Brielle is artistic, creative, too. She is always there for you. Brielle is so kind, and lots of fun. As you can see, she is number one.

36. Let’s Be Friends – By Christine Corona

Would you like to be my friend? That would be so fine! We’ll run around in your backyard And then we’ll play in mine. We’ll walk to school together. And share our lunches too. Oh, what a lucky kid I am To have a friend like you!

37. With A Friend – By Vivian Gould

I can talk with a friend and walk with a friend and share my umbrella in the rain. I can play with a friend and stay with a friend and learn with a friend and explain. I can eat with a friend and compete with a friend and even sometimes disagree. I can ride with a friend and take pride with a friend. A friend can mean so much to me!

38. Work For Friendship – By J.J. Thorne

The duties of friendship to perform, Will keep our thoughts wide awake; Make life true and warm, For friendship’s sake. Cursed is he that makes envy, Lies, tattles, and fraternity break; Speak in praise and speak the truth, For friendship’s sake. Love warms and never alarms, Sweet as lilies of the lake; Row your boat and gather charms. For friendship’s sake. If peace and harmony through human regard, We desire to make; We will work if it is hard; For friendship’s sake. In pursuit and plod for wealth, Let honesty hold the stake; Do not hate the man of stealth, For friendship’s sake. Live upright, honest and fair, Give rather than take; In brotherly love do you share? For friendship’s sake.

39. Friends For Life – By Angelica N. Brissett

We are friends. I’ve got your back, And you have mine. I’ll help you out Anytime! To see you hurt, To see you cry, Makes me weep And wanna die. If you agree To never fight, It wouldn’t matter Who’s wrong or right. If a broken heart Needs a mend, I’ll be right there Till the end. If your cheeks are wet From drops of tears, Don’t worry, Let go of your fears. Hand in hand Love is sent. We’ll be friends Till the end!

40. New Friends and Old Friends – By Joseph Parry

Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold. New-made friendships, like new wine, Age will mellow and refine. Friendships that have stood the test- Time and change- are surely best; Brow may wrinkle, hair grow gray; Friendship never knows decay. For ‘mid old friends, tried and true, Once more, we, our youth, renew. But old friends, alas! May die; New friends must their place supply. Cherish friendship in your breast- New is good, but old is best; Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold. How do I write a poem about my best friend? But the significance of friendship poems doesn’t end just here. We have created an infographic to tell you what all you can use these poems for. Check it out below. While writing a poem for a best friend, the best approach is to appeal to the emotional sensibilities of your friend. Mention all the things you appreciate them for and why they are so special to you. What does Kahlil Gibran say about friendship? Kahlil Gibran, in his poem “On Friendship”, talks about how friendship is that one thing that completes life. A good friend is an answer to all your needs. Gibran says that a good friend by your side will keep grief and sorrow at bay. What word rhymes with friendship? Words like pip, snip, ship, slip, nip, etc., rhyme with friendship. How do you begin a poem? There is no rule set in stone on how a poem must begin. But there are a few things you must consider before beginning a poem so that you know how to go about it. List down a blueprint of all the things you wish to express and how you’d order them. Adopt a personal tone and start writing freehand because you can always make edits as you go. As you go about this process, the appropriate beginning that speaks to you, will come to you. What is another word for best friends? If you want more poetic or unique words for best friends in your poem, you can use words like companion, dearest, soulmate, soul sister, confidant, soul twin, or my shadow.