20 Inspirational Poems About Single Moms

1. Single Mom

“She is a single mother With a lot on her mind She is strong and independent That’s really hard to find She is always doing her best To keep up a lovely home Even though sometimes deep down She feels sad and alone Her kids keep her going Their the apple of her eye They see here as a hero That’s something she won’t deny Everything she does It’s with happiness and love Each night before she goes to bed She thanks the good lord above For giving her the strength To get through each long day But being the world’s great mom That’s something no one can take away” – Movrike

2. Struggle Of A Single Mother

“Once upon a midnight other children asleep in bed while mine are wide awake ignoring everything I said. I am on my own without a supportive spouse and there is much fighting going on in the house. I do the best that I can but it is never enough my children can be wild, taking care of them is rough. Dressed in my nightwear, hands holding my head I repeat myself often when I say, “Go to bed!” The children are loud running up and down stairs. while I go into a stupor, thinking “Aaahhh Who cares?” Awakened from a daydream with wide open eye I shout “Go to your rooms” then I start to cry. “Please go to bed or you will be grounded” I finally throw a shoe and they look astounded. It was getting later and their behavior was bad I wished they would mind me, I was getting mad. My job is rough, being the mother of three How can I get their attention? they must look at me. My children notice my tears and ask me, “What’s wrong?” I was very upset when I needed to be strong. I told them that they need to behave in my care because their behavior is getting too hard to bear. They lead me to my room and turn out the light Then they go to bed a little after midnight. I struggle every night to be a parent on my own cause my children won’t listen to my words alone. The place is a mess and they will not do their share I stress when I clean up and they don’t seem to care. They can be sweet and they are full of surprise but sleep doesn’t come easy until their mother cries.” – Poetess12

3. A Baby Cries In The Middle Of The Night

“A baby cries in the middle of the night. She’s the only one to calm her screams. Exhausted at 3 in the morning Every night it’s the same thing. She works two jobs just to make ends meet. She wishes she had more time. Guilt stricken for leaving her 10 hours. At the Day Care, she picks her up each night. Every night she says to her baby, holding her close as she fights sleep, “Looking at that face, it’s so hard to see What would life be like without you next to me? I know things are hard, just the two of us, but we’ll somehow make it through. Mommy didn’t mean for this to be so hard. Just don’t forget I will always love you! ” Left all alone to raise a child. No child support to help her out. But, money is hard to get when daddy isn’t around. He wasn’t there to hold her hand when their baby took her first breath. He hasn’t even seen how much she looks like him, Before she was born, he was killed by a drunk driver in an awful wreck. She still blames herself and is mad he left her alone. But she looks at her and sees him and knows her heart is his home. The day came when she took her first step. She held her close and looked in her eyes, and it nearly scared her to death. She could see her husband looking at her too. A tear ran down her cheek, and she said, “Honey, God might have taken Daddy to Heaven, but he will always be right here with you.”” – Rachael Ruyle

4. My Hero, My Mom

“She gave me life. She gave me talents. She gave me the face I wear. I look like her copy, Yet I am so much more, That “so much more”, I learned from her, From her mistakes. She seems like the heroes That rest inside the books. She handles life, Not always wisely, But we always get though it unharmed. She doubts herself, Yet she’s the best leader; She always finds the right solution, From asking herself the same question, Over and over again. She’s brave. She never runs away. She faces trouble. She does her best. She is my mom. Yet I see her like a sister, My best old friend that knows so much. She has her faults, Don’t get me wrong. Stress sometimes gets her, At the end of the day. But that is normal, After all her tiring sacrifices. Yet she is my hero. She’s a single mother. She works hard to make ends meet. I admire her efforts, And her determination, To make life better. She’s always reading with me, Harry Potter Or whatever books I read. So I can debate with her. Will Harry succeed? Will he fail? Mom always supports me, In my important decisions. She was my first poetry critic, When I first started writing, In English, Three years ago. She reads my poems, She tells me what is right, And we laugh about what’s wrong. I thank her for all she’s done, For all the times she opened my eyes, For all the times she helped me, For all the nights she didn’t sleep, Because I was sick, For all her efforts, For all her support, For being there, For caring. I love her.” – Lune Argentie

5. A Single Mom In A Man’s World

“Smart and driven from the start of her career. She completed her doctorate with nothing to fear. Teaching generations of managers was her gift. Her students were never bored or left adrift. And now another employee has gone for no reason. For her, a new job, a new life, and a brand new season. She is a gentle yet blunt soul. Equal pay for equal work was her goal. Let’s give her credit for raising two boys with plenty of love. That talent or skill requires assistance from above. Single mom’s have it tougher than you or me. Women deserve every chance, can’t you see? A good friend to me she has been. I truly believe she has won in the end. Fame, fortune, and love will be hers. Not that I think that is all she prefers. Recognition for a job well done. This is why Rhonda’s work has only begun. One more line, and I’ll be through. Rhonda Bell, I am proud of you.” – Manager Poet

6. I See Her Often Struggling All Alone

“I see her often….struggling all alone. A diaper bag, pocketbook, and the baby. The look of distress on her face as she pushes the stroller home. She raises her child all by herself. Her pockets are not overflowing….which means she’s lacking wealth. She shuffles off to work each day. She’s wondering when they will increase the dollars in her pay. Single mom to some, Superwoman to her kids…..no regrets, it is what it is. How I admire her strength and drive. She’s strong during the day, but at night she cries. This is not the way it was supposed to be. My child should be seeing double, not just me. Her mind is steady racing, but this is not a race. The thought started here, and now it’s in a different place. The sacrifices and staying up late when her child is sick. She’s snapping pictures at Christmas time as her daughter opens presents left by jolly ole Saint Nick. She’s thankful for this precious jewel that she must shape and shine. Smiling as she puts her child to bed because she has to be at work by nine. There’s always something to be done, so there’s not much time to sit. This is a full-time job and one which she can’t quit. The cooking, the cleaning and washing clothes, She’s looking for some tissues so she can wipe her runny nose. She thinks she’s a single mom, but that’s not entirely true. The Lord is guiding and assisting….pulling her through. Keep your head up, and don’t let anyone or anything bring you down. A queen’s crown belongs on her head…..not upon the ground. A dedication to the single mother’s……..Thank you for all that you do and have done.” – TheTeacher

7. Happy

“He cries for me when he leaves with his father, the back and forth boomerang, you never expect your child will become. The sudden woes of a two-year-old. The drama of honey swirled incorrectly on oatmeal. Should it have been doused counter-clockwise? Three fires have already been put out in my house, this morning and I speak without metaphor, about the imagination of a two-year-old who seems to know where I break, where my patience ends and exactly where it will hurt worst If a plastic fire truck slams into my shin. Then, completely human, he senses a crack in our connection, tantrum suddenly ends, sticky hands grasp any body part in reach – the need to know you are loved, even after you’ve thrown your bowl of hot oatmeal on the floor: “mommy, are you happy because you love me?”” – Crystal Ellefsen

8. News Radio

“I turn on the news. I turn it off. I turn it on. Off. I cry. I call the lawyer to find out when the divorce documents will be ready to sign. I turn on the news. I turn it off. I text him a picture of our son in a pumpkin patch. I turn on the news. I text him to say that our son cried because the little train was too loud and squeaky, too scary. I turn off the news. I turn it on. Justice is only a word. Cruel dictators die rarely and how does being cruel to their corpse make anything better.” – Crystal Ellefsen

9. My Mom

“My mom is very special, My mom is very kind, My mom always tells me I’m special, She’s always on my mind. My mom watches me grow, My mom watches me cry, Of course, she’ll always know, She’ll never have to tell me good-bye. My mom will always hug and kiss, My mom will always care. My days she will never miss, Coz I’m her little teddy bear. My mom is very special, My mom is very kind, My mom always tells me I’m special, She’s always on my mind.” – Anonymous

10. Mother And Child

“A mother’s love begins Before the child is born And lasts through time And difficulties And differences And many wounds And days of joy And days of sorrow Winding, wearing Weeping, sharing Changing Until, at the end What remains Is that solid core That began as love Before the child was born.” – Anonymous

11. The Hand That Rocks The Cradle Is The Hand That Rules The World

“Blessings on the hand of women! Angels guard its strength and grace. In the palace, cottage, hovel, Oh, no matter where the place; Would that never storms assailed it, Rainbows ever gently curled, For the hand that rocks the cradle Is the hand that rules the world. Infancy’s the tender fountain, Power may with beauty flow, Mothers first to guide the streamlets, From them souls unresting grow— Grow on for the good or evil, Sunshine streamed or evil hurled, For the hand that rocks the cradle Is the hand that rules the world. Woman, how divine your mission, Here upon our natal sod; Keep—oh, keep the young heart open Always to the breath of God! All true trophies of the ages Are from mother-love impearled, For the hand that rocks the cradle Is the hand that rules the world. Blessings on the hand of women! Fathers, sons, and daughters cry, And the sacred song is mingled With the worship in the sky— Mingles where no tempest darkens, Rainbows evermore are hurled; For the hand that rocks the cradle Is the hand that rules the world” – William Ross Wallace

12. The Best Mom

“Mom, you are the best mom in the world. Of all the other moms, you are the best. Many people are not as special as you are Nothing in the world can compare how much I love you. Got the best care I needed in the world Unbelievable caring ness in a mother Your kindness and great mood Everything you give me is with the kindness of your heart. Now I want to tell you “I love you with all my heart.”” – William Ross Wallace

13. A Single Mother Doesn’t Know Defeat

“Another day of kicking ass, Of waking up with pride. She drives herself to work, Smiling at the her, she’s left behind. Another day of dreaming, Reconnecting with her soul. She spreads her wings to fly, Peace of mind is her goal. Another day of victories, One foot in front of the other. She sows the seeds of paradise. From her strength as a mother. When the moon shines bright inside her lair, Another day complete, She holds her children close with care. A single mother who doesn’t know defeat. Her heart aches with love and joy, As she begins to pray. She walks an unknown path, Grateful for every single day.” – Cassie Faerber

14. Single And Struggling

“As the yellow sun sets o’er the ocean And deep darkness envelopes the earth. As the world is rocked to sleep by the night’s rhythm She stays awake, and with the stars keep watch She’s often terrified. She’s often paranoid. Alone and lonely; choked by the grip of terror She watches helplessly as life slowly passes by Hurt and vulnerable, she curses her miserable fate Perched precariously on the edge of the night She wonders what new mischief the dawn brings She rocks the cradle, and sings, and dozes, and wakes. A vicious cycle from which there’s no breaking Always the last to bed; always the first to rise The lives of wild, innocent little things rest on her shoulder She cannot falter. She cannot break. She cannot rest She cries in the rain and sends her miseries to the clouds Life is not fair. The world is a cruel, dark place She’s an object of undeserved neglect – a Cinderella Still, I marvel at her strength and her pride Her resilience, and instinct, her love, and affection She’s a father, and a mother, and a doctor, and a cook Roles she hadn’t wanted, duties life hadn’t prepared her for Her hair suddenly greys, but I still see her beauty Her skin quickly wrinkles, but I still see her radiance” – Ademola Adeyoju & Onashile Peace (Tolarnee)

15. Never Wanted To Be A Single Mother

“Never wanted to do it alone, Raise a child on my own, One-sided without assistance, Always believed two parents were needed. For a child to go the distance Fought to keep that dream alive, Battled my own insecurities inside Took a long time to realize I would only fail if I didn’t try, So I took a new approach. I needed to change how I felt, For the sake of my child’s happiness It was time to do it by myself. Had to let go of hopeful wishing, Had to make some harsh decisions, No longer waiting on another’s efforts, Had to stop lingering for the better Assuming one day, the other party would get it, Stressing because that person doesn’t listen, Taking away from all I could give Had to grow up and let go So that we could comfortably live No more bread crumbs, And dropping hints, No more directions to follow and pointless fits No more tears shed because of events missed. Because when I only focus on us, It is just pure happiness. I know what I can do, It is now clear to me, No longer do I look for support. To come to me, I have everything inside that my child will ever need, No end to how far I’ll go, For I am willing to take the lead Never wanted to be a parent, I seen the responsibilities coming, It is a shame that both parents. Couldn’t hit the ground running, But I am happy with my decision, Wouldn’t change anything, Couldn’t imagine my life now, Without my bundle of joy breathing I’ve also learned not to blame, Not to even whisper ones’ name, No need to bad mouth the other, I am grateful we were lovers, For I got the greatest gift, And it is all mine, I have the biggest role, And that is just fine, For the love I have is stronger than any other, So when it all is said and done… I am a PROUD single mother!” – Kayotic Konfessions

16. To Our Single Mom On Father’s Day!

“This poem is for our single Mom. We hope it makes her laugh. Because she’s like a dad as well She’s never been just half! So now that Father’s Day has come. We couldn’t miss her out. So “HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, SINGLE MOM.” We need to shout it out! We hope you have a lovely day. And celebrate in style. You try your very best for us. And always make us smile. We’ve never felt we’re missing out. Not having Dad around. You’re the best of both worlds, really. And you keep us safe and sound. We won’t bring you a pipe and slippers. That would seem quite mean. But we’ll bring you a sparkling golden crown. For our single Mom, our Queen! Happy Father’s Day, Mom – We love you!” – Gerardo Campbell

17. Single Mom To Grandma

“I was a single mom when I was young I loved first my Lord and then my son. My prayer was simple every day Dear Lord, Please don’t take my son away. I have had many losses throughout my life Divorced with a six year old filled my world with strife Things were tough it was hard to succeed God gave me the skills and opportunities I needed. There were times I felt disowned I was in this world alone with my son I never loved a person as much as I loved him He was my everything keeping him close was more than a whim. Now he’s grown into a fine young man with a beautiful wife and two children in hand I love them all with my whole heart and now I pray, Lord, Ne’er pull them apart and dear Lord always keep them near Losing any one of them Is more than I could bear. Amen” – Francine Morales

18. Single Moms

“We are strong And We want our kids to see it Its not easy Its challenging But Seeing our kids faces light up its a heaven send Being a parent Is A wonderful gift A new experience that changes our life for the better A never ending love Between Our babies and us” – S21

19. Eggshells

“I am a single mom Fighting for my children They peep inside tiny fragmented shells and I tip toe around splintered oblong spheres So the pin does not come out I am a bird With the weapon pointed at me And metal is cold And feathers are fire receiving the blast – I am tired. I am a single mom My wings beat the wind The frozen ice air Long and always strong blast I cannot hide from the weapons But I can fly from them. So I guard my hatchlings And face the wind. Flames curl around the metal edges – they laugh and I laugh back.” – Laura McKee15

20. Hang In There, My Friend

“Hang in there, my friend. The days are long The years are short. You can get through it all you know you can because you have to, You’re the strong one, you’re the support. Some days you feel sad because you think you’re a shit parent. That’s it – you’re bad… But NO you aren’t at all, stand up stand tall! Hang in there, my friend. When your child succeeds you get to experience the joy all for you, You did this you got them through! They are happy, They are clean, They are fed. And yes, lets not lie we count the time, the minutes and the hours til we can get them to bed! Bed time gets stretched out for quite a while as they plead in denial about their sleepy heads. Hang in there, my friend. You didn’t plan on being a single parent but you have to deal with the cards you are dealt the best way you can. See the positive – you have your very own clan! You see the eyes of pity, perhaps a tinge of sadness the moment you mention “I’m a single parent” Why should this be when just because you’re a single parent doesn’t mean you can’t be a success. Ok, kids aren’t easy, they can be a stress. In the end, you’re the only one who can give your children a happy parent who loves life! A life without fear, worry or strife. Hang in there my friend. Parents, single or not, put a lot of pressure on themselves trying to balance it all. It’s never going to be 100% balanced, the sooner you know this, the sooner you can relieve some of the pressure you put on yourself, no matter how small. As they say “Being a single parent is twice the work, twice the stress and twice the tears but also twice the hugs, twice the love and twice the pride.” You’ve got this just take it in your stride. A single parent tries when things are hard and they never give up. Because that’s the job for their little cub/s! A single parent believes in their family, even when things are tough and they know that above all things… Love is more than enough. Hang in there my friend. Parents don’t always know what to do or how to do it but are never willing to give up when times get rough. Remember – with shelter, food and clothes you have more than enough. Remember – that beauty of having your own children isn’t in the perfect photos we show the world, Remember – the beauty is in the folds and creases of our lives – of your lives – whether it’s bent or curled. The tantrums, time outs and tears and throw ups. The firsts, the lessons, the doctors check ups. Parenting has no rules and it’s a tough job, and even when they’re grown you’ll be a parent til the end. Hang in there my friend.” – Bryony A Shaw

A Letter To All The Single Mothers

Dear Single Moms, You make us proud the way you love, teach, and protect. You would go to the ends of the earth, spar with mythical beasts, and sail the seven seas for your child. Your strength knows no end, and your perseverance, no bounds. In all your battles, you always succeed because you never give up. You manage your profession, fix three meals a day, have an eye on your child, and still get the laundry and cleaning done. It isn’t said enough – you are a powerhouse! For all the times you’ve struggled and come through, we applaud your resilience. You are God’s gift to mankind. Yours always Stylecraze

What can I say instead of a single mom? Other words to use instead of saying single mom are: independent mother (mom, mum, etc.), single parent, and child-headed. Do single mothers feel lonely? Single mothers might feel lonely, but it’s not necessarily because they need a partner. They might just want a companion or group of friends with whom they can love, support, and hang out. What do single mothers struggle with? Some single parents might struggle with raising a child while focusing on their jobs. They might want to keep their dating life quiet from their kids. They might find it difficult to communicate with their ex. How do single moms find happiness? Plan a schedule ahead of time, always have a backup plan in case things fall through, give some time to yourself without feeling guilty, and hire a nanny because you may need help raising the kid and managing work. Also, spend time with your child doing things they love. What is the hardest thing about being a single mom? Juggling your life, work, child(ren), their school work, and splitting weekends with your ex can be tough for a single parent.